Skip to content

Apple Slicer, Peeler, Corer

May 4, 2010

So that neat slicer, corer, peeler thingy that I mentioned in my last post (click here to see that buddy) is pretty much man’s best friend.

If you ever see one of these at a thrift store, or a newer, more modern version at some snazzy store, buy one! It’s an amazing tool.

We made our apple pie last fall in half the time it would have taken because of this gem.I’ll post a recipe and a little diddy about this adventure as soon as possible. That was such a wonderful day.

Our recipe last night took a matter of about 5 or 10 minutes to prep thanks to the tool. I haven’t tried yet, but I think that it could work with potatoes too, which would be a super nice application of all that peeling and slicing power. I’ll have to see if it’s more fun than my mandolin. It’ll probably be safer and won’t take off chunks of my fingers when I’m not super careful (that was a fun meal to cook. Mandolins make a lot of blood, as well as neat little slices of food.)

It might look medieval, but give it a chance. It’s worth a spot in your drawer.

Looks like a crazy, creepy torture weapon. Yikes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. picklemeanything permalink
    May 4, 2010 4:02 am

    My mom has one of these. We used it a lot post apple picking when I was a kid, and from what I recall, was quite fun. I think I may try to hijack it for awhile.

Trackbacks

  1. Not Just ANY Fruit Crisp « All Things Foodie

Leave a Reply

