Skip to content

Not Just ANY Fruit Crisp

May 4, 2010

I just didn’t feel like cooking yesterday. I started off motivated when I got home from work, but then it got late and I just couldn’t really motivate any further, despite my eggplant and zucchini just waiting to be included in two wonderful casserole recipes (both of which will hopefully be happening tomorrow, since I’ll have all day long to motivate.) So I sat down to enjoy a relaxing evening, picked up Billy’s laptop, and stumbled across this neat little recipe, which actually came from the same gentleman that writes the blog that Emily posted yesterday. It just looked so easy and tasty, and promised to satisfy my need to cook but also to get to sleep at a reasonable hour. So Megan and I got cracking and whipped up this baby.

I’m not going to say this recipe in it’s original state- which is how Megan and I baked it last night- is absolutely wonderful. In all honesty, it came out too sweet and too buttery and I also learned an important lesson about spring-form pans not being the most watertight of pans to cook something extremely buttery in, and that butter burns and produces quite a bit of smoke once it leaks onto the bottom of the oven. Not a very fun lesson to learn, but I was very happy to learn that our new smoke detector works very well and will surely save our butts in the instance of a fire.

Billy checking out the large amount of smoke coming out of the back of the oven.

The beauty of this recipe is in it’s simplicity and the fact that I had all the ingredients in the kitchen. That’s becoming one of my favorite things about having a well stocked kitchen- I can bake most recipes that I come across without needing to take a trip to Woodman’s every time I find a neato recipe. The other wonderful point in this recipe is how the author of the blog modified the recipe in his recommended variation. Basically, it’s a much more enjoyable in a less unhealthy version, which seems to make very little sense, due to the delicious nature of butter and sugar.

I’d encourage you to try out this recipe, but make it with the recommended variations.

The recipe and the authors comments follow.

“There is a special appeal to recipes that are not only so easy that you can throw them together with ingredients already on hand, but so straight-forward that they actually offer you the possibility of memorizing them. (I included the recommended ingredient amounts in non-italic font.)

Not Just Any Fruit Crisp from http://www.FruitSlinger.com/fruit-slinger-2009/2009/10/3/not-just-any-fruit-crisp.html

  • 1 Wolf River apple, plus one Gala apple, peeled and sliced
    (or 4 cups peeled, sliced apple; or 4 cups of any fruit)
    Megan and I used 4 Juno apples that we used this awesome peeler, slicer, corer on. See more on that tool HERE.
  • 1 cup flour (or 1 cup of whole wheat flour)
  • 1 cup sugar (or 1/2 to 3/4 a cup for a more palatable version)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 pound butter, melted (or try using just 3/4 a stick of butter)

“Butter an 8-inch baking dish. Place fruit in the dish. In a bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add the beaten egg and mix well with a fork or your fingertips, until the flour is dampened and in small clumps. Scatter the flour mixture on top of the fruit. Drizzle the melted butter evenly over the top. Bake in a 375-degree oven for 25-30 minutes. Serves 6. Or 4. Or 2.

Recommended Variation:Cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup, use white whole wheat flour (often available at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods) for a portion or all of the flour, and shave off a couple tablespoons of butter. (A quarter pound of butter is 8 tablespoons, or one stick. So leaving out two tablespoons means using three-quarters of a stick of butter.)”

Really simple, right? Give it a shot. Let me know what you think.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 10:52 am

    If a recipe calls for a spring form pan and you’re really weary of using it again here are some tips to keep stuff from leaking out.

    -Line the pan with parchment paper, it doesn’t have to be the exact shape of the pan. I usually just keep it in square form and then pop it in. And just in cause I put the pan on a sheet pan.

    – In addition to the parchment paper trick, wrap the pan with foil, that will just keep things from coming out and burning the bottom of your oven.

    Just as a safety precaution, I alllways put a pan underneath the spring form, just to contain leaks if they happen.

    • May 4, 2010 2:06 pm

      I’m so grateful for your information. I was about to loose hope with the spring-form pan and it’s liquid retention. Using a pan underneath was what we eventually did, but not before a good deal leaked out. Bah humbug. I wish I had known all that before!!

      • May 5, 2010 1:24 pm

        I’m happy to help, if you have any baking questions don’t hold back in asking me.

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Slicer, Peeler, Corer « All Things Foodie

Leave a Reply

