Skip to content

Green Grub

May 8, 2010

I’m excited to finally post something! I plan to periodically present you with ecologically-friendly products pertaining to food and other related green ideas. More so in the summer, I’ll try to post some farmers’ market dates in the Cook County vicinity  and general locally grown food information. But until those sweet summer days and fruits arrive, I think everyone should try to make awesome reusable snack bags in preparation!

Pictured here are cotton bags by graze organic:

That surprise bag is exciting. Check out the other designs at www.grazeorganic.com if you’re interested, or just think how easy it’d be to sew your own (let me see what you folks make if you do! ). The bags above have screen printed designs, but since I own zero equipment needed for that, I think a cute vegetable patch pattern will do. But more important than the esthetics, the point is you could be saving a lot of plastic bag waste and money by either purchasing or making snack bags you can wash and use over and over again, so please consider doing so.

Next are homemade cosies- these would have been more applicable for the winter months, but it’s freezing outside anyway.Thanks Kelsey P. for showing me this. I can’t believe it hasn’t come across my brain to look for a reusable cosy sooner. Although most paper cosies are recyclable, why waste the trees? Etsy.com has a lot of creative ones for sale, but this is something else I imagine some of you would know how to sew. Have fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. picklemeanything permalink
    May 9, 2010 12:57 am

    I love that cozy! I’m definately going to make one.

  2. meganmessina permalink*
    May 9, 2010 1:40 am

    This is so incredible, come over soon so we can make these!!!!

  3. May 9, 2010 5:50 pm

    Monica, I have had this page book-marked on my computer for at least 6 months and I thought of it when you were telling me about this post. It’s a great idea to keep you busy and to get rid of those plastic bags that accumulate around your living area. I plan on trying this out hopefully sooner rather then later.

    http://www.greenprophet.com/2008/05/09/423/recycling-plastic-bags-handbags/

Leave a Reply

