Skip to content

Garlic-Braised Chicken with Olives and Mushrooms

June 26, 2010
I made this dish back in Carpentersville and it was so delicious. I’m so glad I started this post back then, so that I could share it with you.
I received a free subscription for Body and Soul Magazine last summer for using theknot.com to plan our wedding. It’s proved quite worthwhile and I’m going to be sad when it ends, but not sad enough to renew my subscription. I forget which month this entry was from, but I’m such a fan of garlic and olives, I just needed to give it a shot. Here’s the recipe at wholeliving.com. I followed the recipe pretty exactly, but instead of just using regular green olives, I used the garlic stuffed green olives that Monica gave us for our birthdays. YUM.
Ingredients
  • 1 small chicken (about 2 1/2 pounds), cut into pieces
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 heads garlic (at least 16 cloves), smashed and peeled
  • 10 ounces cremini mushrooms, cleaned, trimmed, and halved
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup green olives (preferably picholine), pitted or left whole
  • 1/3 cup chicken stock

Directions

  1. Heat a large straight-sided skillet (about 12 inches) over medium-high heat. While its heating, season chicken with salt and pepper. Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan and swirl. Add chicken, skin side down. Let brown, 5 to 6 minutes. Remove chicken from pan; set aside.
  2. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan, followed by garlic and mushrooms; let brown, stirring occasionally, 5 to 6 minutes.
  3. Add wine to mushrooms and garlic and bring to a boil, then cook for 1 minute. Return chicken to pan.
  4. Add olives and chicken stock to pan; bring to a boil, then reduce heat. Cover; simmer until chicken is cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

