Skip to content

Awesome Bean Dip, Round 2

June 27, 2010

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned yet how thrilled I am to live next door to an amazing Persian market. I wrote a Yelp review of the place and I’m now Yelp’s Duchess of the market. Hilarious.

The place is awesome. I’m literally looking down onto the side of their building as I write this. And the prices are quite wonderful too. I think my favorite part of this place is that I can now go buy fresh produce whenever I run low, which means that I have less of a need for frozen vegetables and fruit. Freezing will still continue to be my favorite method of preserving food, but I would rather not have the need for preserving food at all. You get me?

So, I’m super excited to have fresh bell pepper and onions in my latest round of bean dip. I think this is actually my third batch, but this is officially my most homemade version.

The biggest feature of this bean dip is that I made my own refried beans! Please try this sometime, you guys. It’s super easy and the beans are amazing. I’m going to post the recipe here for how to make them using a slow cooker, which is the key in making this the easiest thing you’ve ever made.  Oh, and did I mention that there’s not “refrying” in this recipe? So you get super nutritious beans without needing to mess around with oil, butter or lard. Here’s the original recipe, from allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, peeled and halved
  • 3 cups dry pinto beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 fresh jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 5 teaspoons salt
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cumin, optional
  • 9 cups water

Directions

  1. Place the onion, rinsed beans, jalapeno, garlic, salt, pepper, and cumin into a slow cooker. Pour in the water and stir to combine. Cook on High for 8 hours, adding more water as needed. Note: if more than 1 cup of water has evaporated during cooking, then the temperature is too high.
  2. Once the beans have cooked, strain them, and reserve the liquid. Mash the beans with a potato masher, adding the reserved water as needed to attain desired consistency.

While the beans were cooking, I threw together this mix of ingredients to be ready to mix with the refried beans when they were done.

  • a can of black beans
  • a can of sweet yellow corn
  • one diced red pepper
  • one diced green pepper
  • some diced canned jalepenos
  • a little bit of leftover red hot sauce from Dane’s burrito meal from a restaurant around here
  • a bit of the habanero ketchup that you can hopefully get at TJ Max

Super delicious and super easy. I’ve got a bunch of it in my fridge and then a decent portion frozen for when the fridge batch runs out.

Serve it on some tortilla with a little cheese, and boom. You’ve got a great meal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

