Skip to content

Pasta with Garlic and Herbs

June 27, 2010

So I made this dish alongside the garlic and olive chicken that I wrote about yesterday. I was feeling particularly partial to garlic that night and had recently planted all my little garden plants and wanted to get some use out of the basil that I had.

I really loved the simplicity of this recipe. (Here’s the link to it, but I got it from Body and Soul Magazine) It was more of less just making whatever pasta I wanted to, and then just barely dressing it. There’s a lot of room for adaption here too. If you want more garlic, add more garlic. If you want a heavier basil flavor, add more basil. I’d say the same for black pepper, but whatever you do, be ginger with the salt. It’ll overpower the dish. I didn’t have any pepperoncini, which I’m sort of sad about, because I’d imagine it would add a whole new wonderful flavor profile.

Ingredients

Serves 2 as a main.

  • 1/2 pound whole-wheat spaghetti (I didn’t have spaghetti so I used some whole wheat shells and curly pasta, I forget what it’s called.)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil plus more for drizzling
  • 6 pepperoncini, sliced into rings (I also didn’t have any pepperoncini, so I omitted them from the recipe.)
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic (6 to 8 cloves)
  • 3/4 cup chopped parsley, basil, or both
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add a generous amount of salt, then add pasta. Cook until al dente.
  2. Just before pasta is done, heat oil in a large skillet. Add pepperoncini and half of the garlic; toss to heat through.
  3. Reserve 1 cup of pasta-cooking water, then drain pasta.
  4. Add pasta to skillet and stir. Add just enough reserved pasta water to moisten; stir in garlic and herbs. Stir in cheese, then season with salt and pepper. Drizzle with more olive oil and shaved Parmesan, if desired.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

