Skip to content

Lime Pie!

June 29, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a day for many firsts for me.

First time for:

  • Baking in the apartment
  • Using my KitchenAid
  • Making a meringue
  • Making whipped cream

All of these things resulted in an incredible lime pie. I can’t call it a key lime pie because I couldn’t find key limes at Q Market, and I was too exhausted to drive anywhere and hunt around for them. So I used regular ole lime juice, and the results were still just as wonderful as key lime pie.

Today was also the first time that I’ve seen our sweet land lady, Colleen, outside of the building and met her kids. I needed to run across the street to grab some more butter, and she was at the store as well. She loves key lime pie, and so I will be bringing her a slice tomorrow to see how mine stacks up against others. Billy seems to be very pleased. He congratulated me on a job well done, and that makes me very happy.

I’ll post the recipes that I used and where they came from so that you too can create this refreshing dessert. The main inspiration and recipe for this dessert came from a blog that I subscribe to and have in my RSS feed called BrokeAss Gourmet. I love getting great ideas for cheap recipes from her blog. Gabi, from BrokeAss Gourmet, had the adorable idea of baking this recipe in little ramekins and therefore dividing up the recipe four ways, but since I don’t have little ramekins, I used the pyrex pie dish that I had. I also found a recipe for meringue because I wanted to make it a more standard key lime pie, and then just to make it over the top, I added a whipped cream to the pie as well.

Ingredients and directions for the crust and the custard from BrokeAss Gourmet

  • 4 cups Nilla (about 1 box) Nilla Wafers, crushed until fine (I couldn’t find Nilla Wafers at the Persian supermarket, go figure, so I used some vanilla cookies that I found. Graham crackers would work fine too, I think)
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup sweetened-condensed milk
  • 5 ripe Key limes, juiced (about 1/2 cup) (I used 100% regular lime juice, since I couldn’t find key limes)
  • 4 egg yolks, beaten

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease your pie pan and set aside.

Combine crushed Nilla Wafers, flour and butter. Stir until dough forms and is cohesive enough to handle. Wet hands with water and carefully press dough into prepared pan to form a crust. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the sweetened-condensed milk, lime juice and egg yolks. Pour into prepared crusts and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until custard sets.

Cool completely and then refrigerate until serving.

Makes 1 8” pie.

Ingredients for Meringue from Paula Deen at FoodNetwork.com

  • 4 egg whites
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • Pinch salt

While the pie bakes in the oven, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. In a second bowl, stir together the sugar, cornstarch, and salt. Add the sugar mixture, a little at a time, to the egg whites, beating between additions. Continue to beat until the sugar dissolves. Spoon the meringue over the hot pie filling. Pop the pie back in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes to give it it’s caramely color.

I then decided to go full out and topped the meringue with a very basic whipped cream recipe.

  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream made enough for me
  • confectioners sugar, to taste

Whip the cream with a metal whisk until stiff peaks begin to form. Incorporate the confectioners sugar while whisking. Don’t over do it though, or it could turn lumpy and unsatisfying.

I layered the whipped cream on top of the meringue and then added a couple slices of lime for a garnish. Lovely!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 11:23 am

    Oh my those plates are just perfect! Aren’t Kitchen Aids the best? They do the job right, and of course yours has to be orange! Glad to hear your doing well in Cali!

    • July 26, 2010 1:54 am

      Dane and his mother bought those plates for us for our wedding. I love them, but not as much as I love my KitchenAid. I love my KitchenAid so much. So much. I’m using it at least once or twice a week. I’m addicted. I miss you! How is the working life treating you?

      • Emily permalink
        July 27, 2010 10:37 am

        Kitchen aids are the best addition to any kitchen and you can buy so many awesome attachments for it as well. I miss you too! Work is alright, it’s no Thirsty Vine and that depresses me to no end. I am currently looking for a normal job so I can take a break from the restaurant industry. It’s draining me of everything. I can’t stand working nights and weekends anymore and I lost my motivation with cooking in a professional setting. And since I am not baking where I’m at it just brings me down more. I am just looking for a job that I can pay my bills and allow me to travel. It’s time for me to enjoy life and not work ti live anymore, it’s taken a toll on me.. How have you been besides cooking your heart away?

  2. July 5, 2010 8:51 am

    This looks awesome! I’m going to have to try this one, Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

