Skip to content

Tangy Fresh Ranch

July 26, 2010

One of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats, always has some of the best recipes on it. I love my subscription and I love trying the different recipes. Essentially, you should check out her blog. Please. Go.

Recently, Annie posted a recipe for a ranch dressing that I tried. It was quite a hit with Billy and the guys. I brought it over to Josh’s house one night and it didn’t take long for us to polish it off with some celery sticks and broccoli bunches.

It wasn’t exactly the ranch dressing recipe that I was looking for. I like a little bit of a tangier, sweeter ranch, I think. So I started over using Annie’s recipe as a starting point.

This round came out exactly how I like it. Fresh, cool, and slightly tangy. I’ve been making these awesome salads with it where I take romaine lettuce, black beans, corn, green pepper slices, carrot slices and maybe some ham and cheese, and toss it up with the ranch dressing. Yum. I think I’ll be having another one for lunch today.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup light Miracle Whip
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt (I think this, along with the miracle whip, are the key ingredients in making it a bit tangier)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • ¼-1 cup buttermilk (I didn’t have buttermilk, so I took 1 tablespoon of vinegar and mixed it with a cup of milk, let it sit for 5 minutes, and added it to the ranch until it reached the consistency that I wanted.)
  • 1 small bunch of finely cut green onions
  • Small handful parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • ½ tsp. kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

I promise this recipe is worth the work to have in the house for when you want a delicious salad. Give it a shot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

