Skip to content

Whole Wheat Tortillas

July 26, 2010

These are so fun to make! Seriously. I rarely have so much fun cooking, and I always have fun cooking.

I love tortillas super hard. All of my favorite quick meals seem to feature tortillas at one point or another. I do prefer to buy a nice whole wheat tortilla brand but it seems like they’re always so expensive. That’s where making my own seems just so appealing, because I, like broke ass gourmet said I would, had everything that I needed for these tortillas in my pantry. Except for all purpose flour. So I substituted it for whole wheat flour. Boom. A bit of a healthier version of something that I totally love.

BrokeAss Gourmet’s Fresh Flour Tortillas

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling Pantry (like I said, I used whole wheat flour instead)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder Pantry
  • 1 tsp salt Pantry
  • 2 tbsp olive oil plus more for bowl Pantry
  • 3/4 cup, plus 2 tbsp warm water

Directions

  1. In a bowl, stand-up mixer, or food processor, mix together flour, baking powder and salt.
  2. Slowly stream in olive oil and mix (use a fork if mixing in a bowl—run machine if using a stand-up mixer or food processor).
  3. Slowly stream in warm water, continuing to mix, until a very sticky dough forms.
  4. Knead, either by hand on a floured surface or in machine, until dough is very smooth and elastic (4-5 minutes by hand, 1-2 minutes using a machine).
  5. Transfer kneaded dough to a lightly oiled bowl. Cover with a clean kitchen towel and allow to rest for 20 minutes.
  6. Once dough has rested, transfer to a lightly floured surface and use a sharp knife to cut into 12 pieces.
  7. Shape each piece into a round ball. Allow to rest on floured surface for about 5 minutes.
  8. Use a floured rolling pin to roll each ball into a 6-7” circle (don’t worry if it’s not perfectly round—misshapen tortillas have character).
  9. Heat 2 large frying pans (to expedite total cooking time) over medium-high heat (don’t add any oil).
  10. Cook the tortillas, a few at a time in the skillets, for 30-60 seconds on each side. They should have a few brown spots, but not too many. Make sure they are soft as opposed to crisp.
  11. Serve warm.
  12. Makes 12 small tortillas.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

