Skip to content

Lemon Blueberry Pie

July 31, 2010

An updated twist on the lime pie that I had so much fun making, this pie was so much better than I thought it would be.
The other night, while Billy and I ate the chicken meatball pizza, we also enjoyed some adult beverages that we grabbed from the 711 across the street.
Billy chose some boring Bud Light. I, on the other hand, fell into the the allure of the Blueberry Lemonade Smirnoff Ice, despite the hilarity of the Bros Icing Bros video from a couple weeks ago. It might be sugary crap and it might be a girly drink, but it was an interesting combination of flavors, and I liked it a lot. A lot a lot.

So I decided to make it into a pie. For reference on how to make the pie, check out the recipe for the lime pie that I made, but just replace the lime with lemon juice. I used freshly squeezed lemons. The big difference in this recipe is the layer of blueberry that I added.

I bought a small container of blueberries, rinsed them off and threw them into the kitchenaid with the whip attachment, turned it on high to mash them up, and then added a tablespoon of sugar, a dash of lemon juice, and then I threw in a tablespoon of flour. I don’t know why, really, but it made some sort of blueberry paste, and it was delicious. I layered the blueberry paste along with all the skins and everything, on top of the lemon custard and then added the meringue on top of that, before popping it into the oven to caramelize the meringue. I left off the whipped cream this time, but kept some on the side to be added if anyone wanted it.

Seriously summery deliciousness.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

