Skip to content

Easy breakfast frittata

October 7, 2010

I didn’t remember to photograph it, but this was a hearty, filling breakfast that I’m sure I’ll want to make again. I made it on Tuesday morning ( which was, in all actuality, an afternoon but felt like morning for us) after I had picked up Declan from the train station and gone back to sleep for a little bit. We had a full day planned for ourselves, which was unfortunately ruined by the rainy weather we are experiencing and would love if it was any other week besides the one Declan is here. So I wanted to make a filling but relatively easy meal for us to enjoy before we left for the day.
Ingredients:
9 large eggs
5 slices of bacon, cooked in the oven until crispy
1 boiled potato
1 cup steamed broccoli 
1/4 cup crumbling cheese (I used cojita)
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced finely
3 slices of whole wheat bread
About 1/2 cup of milk
Salt and pepper to taste

I started the recipe by layering a foil lined baking sheet with several pieces of bacon and roasting them at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. While I boiled a potato and steamed some broccoli, I tore up a couple pieces of whole wheat bread and layered them on the bottom of my foil lined cast iron high sided skillet. I mixed 9 large eggs in with some shredded mozzarella cheese, some cojita Mexican crumbling cheese, the diced up potato and broccoli stems, the finely diced onion, the chopped up bacon, a quick splash of milk and a bit of salt and pepper. I then poured this mixture on top of the bread chunks and stuck the whole thing in the oven at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes to a half hour. 

The resulting pie can be slices up and served hot. I made a batch of whole wheat pancakes that came out pretty as can be and served them with a mixture of honey, maple syrup, and melted butter. It’s a great way to stretch your supply of expensive real maple syrup. 

I didn’t think we’d be able to eat the whole pie between the four of us,
but we were unstoppable and it didn’t stand a chance to last long enough for leftovers. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

