Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie!

December 4, 2010

You wouldn’t believe how easy pumpkin pie is unless you’ve made it. I’m thrilled at how easy it is, and I can make it so that it’s not even that horrible for me to indulge in a second piece. I’ve made this recipe a good three times now. It’s that simple.

I found Libby’s recipe online here, but you can probably find it on the back of the can.

I’ve listed the recipe how I have adapted it to make it a little less horrible for me.

  • 1 (9 inch) unbaked deep dish pie crust
  • ¾ cup white sugar (I substituted the Splenda fake sugar stuff here)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cloves
  • 6 tablespoons egg whites
  • 1 (15 ounce) can LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can Fat Free NESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk
  • I throw everything together in my kitchenaid and then pour the mixture into the pie crust recipe that I list below. I bake the pie at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes, or until the middle doesn’t jiggle when I shake it.

    For the pie crust, I’m such a lazy ass that I found a recipe that doesn’t require rolling out the dough, or using shortening, since I think shortening is sort of gross.

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup ice water
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Place dough in the pie pan, and press it out evenly with your fingers. Fill with favorite pie filling and bake.

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

