Skip to content

Christmas time is here.

December 26, 2010

I have a ton of recipes to post and I swear I will eventually. There is one that I wanted to get up right away for everyone, and that’s the chocolate chip recipe that I used for the cookies I brought to work the other day. I adapted very minimally the Chewy recipe from Alton Brown. I might have actually posted this recipe before, but I’m going to make it a repost since I love the recipe so much. I used to make these back home in Chicago. Made a couple of batches, actually. They were a huge hit with Billy’s mom and her beau last year, and I missed making them for her this year so I whipped up a batch to bring to work. So tasty. I brought nearly a whole batch and they only lasted for about 20 minutes. I think they were a big hit.

Usually I try to “healthy up” the cookie recipes that I make, but these are too good to mess with. Everything in moderation, right? I modified the directions to make the portions easier to moderate. The teaspoon makes for adorable little cookies that bake way faster than the big ones, which is especially helpful when you want to make a big batch before going into work early on Christmas. They were still slightly warm when I got to work. Awesome.

Adapted only slightly from Alton Brown’s recipe.

The Chewy

  • 2 sticks salted butter, melted ( like to use salted instead of unsalted like traditionally would to add to that nice contrast of sweet and salty)
  • 2 1/4 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Hardware:

  • Teaspoon for scooping
  • A small dish of flour to dip your teaspoon in to prevent sticking during scooping
  • Parchment paper
  • Baking sheets
  • Mixer

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat.Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside.

Pour the melted butter in the mixer’s work bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, yolk, 2 tablespoons milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Using the teaspoon, scoop small balls out of the dough. To prevent a ton of sticky mess, dip the teaspoon into the flour in between scoops. Bake for about 5-6 minutes and then cool.

This recipe works really well if you want to chill a batch of dough ahead of time and then bake later. The chilled dough makes it easier to scoop, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

