Skip to content

Morning Bread/Muffins

February 4, 2011

So I’ve been making this bread for the past couple months which originated from a recipe that I can no longer seem to find the source for. I printed it out before I really started keeping track of sourcing, and for this I am ashamed. Tsk Tsk. Unless I can give credit where credit is due, I do not like posting recipes that I have found. It’s plagiarism. And it’s skeezy. Ya know?

Good news, everyone! This recipe is so far removed from the original recipe that I now feel comfortable posting it for you to enjoy. And please do enjoy it.

This morning bread is everything that I need to kick start some of those intense weekend serving shifts where I bust my ass for 5 hours and don’t have time for a break (plus I don’t really feel like consuming 150 calories of useless breadstick during my shift) so I want to have something in my stomach to keep me full until I’m done with my shift.

This recipe is going to have a ton of ingredients, and you’re going to say, “Now Emily, why would I bother with something as involved and complicated as this recipe? I can just buy some crappy breakfast bars to eat on the road and call it a day!”

No. Hush. This recipe is worth it. Because when you need some good delicious fuel to get you going in the morning, you’re going to want this bread. And your crappy breakfast bars don’t have wholesome ingredients like chopped up carrots (that you can’t tell are there for you crazy vegetable haters out there) or applesauce and mashed banana. Yeah. It’s like everything you need in a little bite sized morsel of goodness. Can you tell I’ve become very proud of this recipe?

Also, and most importantly, it’s not complicated at all. It’s more or less just throwing a bunch of ingredients into a bowl and combining until they form a thick batter, and then baking it. I use my beloved KitchenAid mixer and just mix while I add the dry and then the wet ingredients. A more professional baker might recommend that I do it in a certain order, or combine the wet and dry separately, but I say screw that. It’s just too easy to do everything in one bowl.

I think that you will love this recipe if you buy some mini muffin pans and pour the batter into little paper muffin tin liners. Learn from my mistake, which I have repeatedly made, and invest in some tiny muffin pans. I’m kind of kicking myself that I didn’t buy some little adorable muffin pans while I was at Target today, because this bread would be cooking a whole lot faster, and it would be much easier for me to grab in the morning.

The only problem that I have for you is that I can’t tell you how many muffin pans you need since I haven’t used them before. When I finally buy muffin pans, I’ll update this post, but until then we’re in the dark together.

On to the important part.

The Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of instant oats
  • 1/2 cup of no sugar added applesauce
  • 1 cup of fake sugar substitute or 1/2 cup of sugar and use sweetened yogurt later on – If you are in the camp that you’d rather have less calories and worry about unknown side effects of fake sugar later, then use it. I use the splenda made for sugar bs and cross my fingers its not terrible for me. If anyone wants to illuminate me on any pros or cons to this sort of fake sugar, please, be my guest.
  • 1/2 cup of non-fat plain yogurt, or substitute vanilla sweetened yogurt if you’re using the real sugar.
  • 1/2 cup of soy milk or skim milk
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup egg whites or if you’d prefer the benefits of yolks, 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup of baby carrots – shredded or chopped in a food processor
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Here ends the ingredients that are necessary for creating the muffins that I enjoy. The rest of the ingredients can be added to change the flavor to suit your tastes and this is how I like to make them.

  • 1 cup of raisins
  • 1 cup of your choice of nuts, I’ve used chopped walnuts and almonds. Both taste wonderful and add some great protein.
  • 4 tablespoons wheat germ
  • 4 tablespoons fiber supplement – Billy and I love our fiber.
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground clove

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Add dry ingredients to mixer and then wet ingredients. Add banana along with wet ingredients. It should be ripe enough that it mashes itself into the mixture. Once you have all the wet and dry ingredients added, go ahead and add the raisins, chopped carrot, and chopped nuts.

Spoon batter into the lined muffin pans. When I make this in a 9×9 loaf pan, I cut it into 36 small squares and just pull pieces off as I go. So I’m guessing that this recipe should do well in around 36 lined muffin pan compartments. I sprinkled about 2 tablespoons of sugar on top of the bread to get it all crunchy and tasty on top.

As for how long to keep it in the oven, I usually have to bake this for an obnoxiously long time, which I think should also be a problem solved by the muffin tins. You want to bake them long enough that a tooth pick inserted comes out clean. I’ve needed to cut into the bread to get a sense of whether or not it’s finished baking. This is another item that I will edit once I get the darn muffin tins, so stay posted.

I figured out the calorie information with the nifty website/iphone app that I use called LoseIt.com. The bread will supply you with roughly 60 calories a serving and I’ll usually grab two on my way out the door.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    February 28, 2011 3:40 am

    This looks so delicious, I think I’ll make it… Tomorrow. I will have to check if I have all the ingredients tomorrow… I think I even have a very ripe banana in the freezer waiting for this very occasion. =)
    2 Questions: how obnoxiously long, exactly? and How long does it keep? Refrigerated?
    Ok that was 3 questions…

    Thanks for the sweet ideas. See you soon!

    Joe (from work)

    • February 28, 2011 4:04 am

      I’m pleased as punch that you actually took the time to read this horrendously long post. Thank you kindly, Joe. To answer your question, when I baked it in the 9×9 pyrex container, it took a good 45 minutes. Maybe even longer. I had to keep putting it back in. But if you have the muffin tins, it’ll go by way faster. I usually keep it in the pyrex container with the lid on it for a good week to two weeks in the fridge, but if I make any extra, I’ll just put it in a freezer safe ziplock and freeze it. Then when I run out of the first batch, I’ll swap in the second.

      I’m warning you though. When cold and straight out of the fridge, or maybe when it’s 2 weeks old, it gets a little bit hard. But I don’t mind. I bring it with me out the door so that I can get all those good nutrients before work.

Leave a Reply

