Skip to content

Now with more flavor! An update to my Chicken Meatballs Post – newly improved with beef and turkey!

February 4, 2011

An update to my old post, now with more flavor! This is the introduction to my meatballs recipe from before.

 

“Every once in awhile, I get ambitious and make a batch of meatballs that I then freeze for future meals. The two or three weeks after that, Billy and I eat like royalty in our own home. Okay, maybe not royalty- we sometimes eat them with the likes of ramen, but they make for a pretty good meal.) They’re the perfect thing tostretch out a meal to make it a bit more substantial. The great thing about meatballs like these is that you can make them with any number of ingredients. I’ve made mine with beef and turkey and mushrooms and even with smartfood fake meats. They’re so versatile when it comes to matching them up with entrees too. If you keep the recipe flavorful but basic, they can go along with anything, from meatball sandwiches to mini burgers, and even to more Asian inspired food. Like I said, they make for a great addition to billy’s favorite method of cooking ramen.

“Basically, I’m telling you that it’s just great to have some frozen meatballs in the freezer for use whenever you need them. It doesn’t matter what you make them with. Just make them.

All of this still stands, but I’ve found a great way to make these meatballs that I think I will repeat in the future, and I think that you should try out.

I went up to San Francisco and my uncle generously gave me some of his past magazines from his subscription to Cook’s Illustrated. I’ve already learned so much from the little bit that I’ve read from the magazines, and one of the articles that I read explained how to boost the umami flavors in dishes. For those of you don’t know what umami is, get on the train asap. It’s recognized as one of the five basic tastes now, after all. It’s a great flavor concept that has recently become more well known and discussed in the cooking and eating world, due to it’s recent inclusion in that list of tastes that our tongues sense. I’ve included the  suggestions that Cook’s Illustrated made in this meatball recipe, and I’m almost certain that they are what made the biggest difference in making this recipe extra delicious.

Ingredients:

Yield is roughly 75 meatballs. Remember, these are intended to be frozen for a later date.

  • 1 lb ground chuck
  • 2 20 oz. packages of ground turkey
  • 8 oz. chopped mushrooms (1st umami booster)
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise – helps with binding and flavor
  • 1/2 cup of egg whites or 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup of instant oats
  • 1 cup of bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons dried minced garlic or fresh minced garlic
  • 3 tablespoons dried chopped onion or 1/2 fresh chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup tomato paste (2nd umami booster)
  • 1/4 cup of soy sauce (3rd umami booster)
  • 1/2 cup of teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup of worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of italian seasoning

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine ingredients and mix well. Form 1 1/2 inch balls and place on greased cookie sheets.

Bake for 15 minutes, being careful to keep an eye out towards the end for any burning.

Once baked, line a pan with wax paper and form layers of meatballs between sheets of wax paper and freeze. Once they’re all frozen, pop them in a zip lock bag and boom. You’ve got yourself a delicious meatball to throw into your dishes.

Once again, I used my nifty LoseIt.com application to find the calorie information for these babies. They’ll supply you with about 50 calories each.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

