Skip to content

Jalepeno Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Spanish Rice

February 27, 2011

I was feeling a little creative tonight. I wanted something cheesy and spicy, but a little more challenging than my typical weeknight quesadilla because tonight is my Friday night and I’m chilling at home, and I deserve it. So there.

So as I was driving home, I concocted a plan to defrost one of the chicken breasts that I had bought last week and make something delicious with it. And this is what I came up with.

Jalepeno Stuffed Chicken Breasts. With homemade pickled jalepeno. And melted cheese. Oh, and homemade spanish rice. Yes ma’am.

I just finished eating my meal, and I must say, I have a very content belly. I wish I had made two so that I could have shared some with Billy. Maybe if he’s hungry, and lucky, I’ll make him one too. They only take about 15- 20 minutes or so.

The most important part of this recipe is that I think I’ve found a good technique for stuffing chicken. I’ve tried making it in a pan before and the innards always seem to leak out onto my pan, and that just makes an ugly mess. So using this technique, you’ll have a tidy little chicken package that you can cut into with beautiful results.

Jalepeno Stuffed Chicken Breast for one:

Ingredients:

  • Boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 oz. cheese of your choice. I used a little pinch of shredded cheddar and a pulled apart mozzarella stick cuz I’m cheap like that.
  • A few slices of pickled jalepenos. I’ll post the recipe for this soon. It’s really tasty.
  • 1 tbsp. of flour
  • 1 tbsp. of egg white
  • 1 tbsp. of bread crumbs
  • 1-2 toothpicks

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. I used my little toaster oven and preheated it while I made the chicken.
  2. Butterfly the chicken breast with a sharp thin knife. At this point, you can use a mallet to pound out the chicken. What I did was make another flap of the chicken by starting at the seam of the first cut and then slicing to the outside. You’re keeping everything connected, like you’re making a quad fold brochure from a chicken breast. Gross. I just didn’t have a mallet to use so I wanted to improvise.
  3. So once you have a thin flat piece of chicken, sprinkle the cheese on top, and then the jalepenos. Roll up the chicken and then use toothpicks to sew up the rolled chicken.
  4. Dip the chicken in flour, then the egg white, and then the breadcrumbs.
  5. Wrap the breaded chicken in tin foil and then place in the oven for 20 to 30 minutes. I put it back in once because it wasn’t quite done. Just make sure that you check it before you dig in by cutting a little slit and making sure that the juices run clear.
  6. Enjoy!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

