Skip to content

Dave is coming to town!

February 28, 2011

Dave Bethke’s going to be doing it LA style for the next week. We’re super excited to have him visit as he’s the first non-Cali guest to visit our apartment since we moved out here (Sorry, Declan. You don’t count as you’re technically only 6 hours away from us. We still love having you, though!)

So we’re planning his trip and we want to do it big, but I think I want to have a healthy arsenal of meals made at home and ready to be warmed up so that we can spend more money on fun places to go, like In & Out Burger and Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles (Check out Roscoe’s website, it’s really hilarious). Can’t wait.

Today, I’m going to head over to the grocery store and pick up a boat load of ingredients and then be a busy lady for the rest of the night throwing them all together into some casseroles that I can pop in the oven at a moments notice and have a great meal within the hour. I’ve been really fond of these kind of recipes lately. They make having people over so much more enjoyable. The pride that I feel when I can name a time to have a meal on the table and take the food fresh out of the oven at that time is just something you’ll have to experience for yourself. It’s amazing. And I know that with time and practice, I can just keep getting better at it. My uncle let me read his Cook’s Illustrated Best Make-Ahead Recipes Cookbook and I fell in love with the concept.

So I think I’m going to remake the Tamale Pie recipe that I found tucked away in the Cook’s Illustrated book. That one is up there with my favorite all time recipes. This time I’ll remember to take pictures and then post about it afterwards. I think I’ll also do my Shepard’s Pie that I love so much, and then top off the arsenal with a beef stew. I just found this recipe for an interesting looking beef short ribs stew that I can do in my slow cooker, so I think I’ll be picking up some beef short ribs and an abundance of potatoes to mash up to go with them. I love my slow cooker. I’m in the process of posting a couple of recipes that I’ve made recently and I promise, I’ll get them up, but I’m just the kind of person that needs to get them posted right away or I get lazy.

Stay tuned for recipes and pictures from these cooking adventures tonight, and from Dave’s visit this week. I hope they make you all want to come stay with us for a week to enjoy LA and my comfort food cooking.

Tentative Menu List – Some of these things might happen, some might not. We’ll see…

  • Bacon and Veggie Frittata
  • Pancakes
    • To be put in freezer (I need to replace my stockpile anyway)
  • Beef Stew Pie
    • -Beef and mushrooms
    • -Pie Crust
    • -Mashed Potatoes
  • Tamale Pie
    • -Beef and Bean Filling
    • -Corn Bread Topping
  • Shepard’s Pie
    • -Beef Filling with Mushrooms
    • -Frozen Vegetables
    • -Mashed Potatoes
  • Bangers and Mash
    • -Sausages
    • -Mashed Potatoes
    • -Gravy Reserved from Shepard’s Pie Filling
  • Tomato Sauce
    • -For Reserve to eat with Meatballs
  • Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Lime Pie
One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Tamale Pie « OM NOM NOM

Leave a Reply

