Skip to content

Meatloaf

April 16, 2011

This picture doesnt look all that pretty, but this meatloaf was so tasty.

Billy has been encouraging me to make my own meatloaf recipe since I started cooking almost a year and a half ago. He was quite pleased with this one, so I think this might have to at least be the basic recipe that I spruce up over the years. This meatloaf recipe is something that I threw together. None of the recipes that I was scoping out online had quite the vibe I was looking for, so this is what I came up with, and it was wonderful. I loved the texture, as it was very compressed and a bit more like gyro meat. The flavor was outstanding too. I’m sorry to say, but it was much better than the recipe that I used for the last batch of meatloaf that I made from a friend’s recipe, which I may or may not post the recipe too anyway. So tasty.

Ingredients:

  • 3 small carrots, finely chopped
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 stalk of celery, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 cup of breadcrumbs
  • 8 oz. pork sausage
  • 8 oz. ground chicken thigh or ground turkey
  • 8 oz. ground beef
  • 1 egg
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine ingredients and mix until well blended. Put in a loaf pan and tap to make sure you don’t have any air bubbles.  Place loaf pan on a cookie sheet so that the juices don’t spill over into your oven. Bake for a half hour to 45 minutes or until a thermometer reads 180 degrees.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

