Skip to content

Billy’s Birthday Dinner- The Steak

April 18, 2011

I told you I would tell you about Billy’s birthday meal, and I don’t like to break promises!

This meal was so divine, if I do say so myself. I had a little help though. Billy grilled the steaks better than he’s ever grilled steaks before. So amazing. The sauce and the marinade for the steaks helped, but he did a wonderful job keeping them really nice and pink in the center, while getting those great grill marks. Uhhh….I wish I was eating that steak right now.

The steak was the show stopper of the meal, but the accompaniments were really wonderful as well. I served shrimp in a garlic butter white wine sauce with a parmesan crusting, green beans, potato slices, and for Billy, some garlic butter-lemon-white wine marinated mushrooms.

My goodness we were full. I made an attempt to keep the portions small enough while I was cooking so that we could focus our energy on the steak, but we still both came away almost uncomfortably full.

I will list the recipes for the meal, but unfortunately, we got most of the way into the meal before I remembered that I wanted to take pictures to share with you guys, so I basically only have the recipes to share with you. I’ll post all the accompaniments in the next post.

I knew I wanted to serve a heavily peppered steak since Billy adores freshly ground black pepper. I was planning on just grilling them with a nice crusting of pepper on top, but then I found this recipe online, and thought I might try making my own sauce to go along with the peppered steaks. I’m so glad I found it.

Pepper Crusted Steak with Worcestershire Butter Sauce

Ingredients:

For Steak:

  • 2 large New York strip steaks
  • 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire to marinate the steak in
  • ground black pepper in mill
  • kosher salt
For Worcestershire Butter Sauce:
  • 1/4 cup of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 cup of dry red wine
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • reserved juices from cooked steaks
Directions:
  1. Preheat grill.
  2. In a dish or on a plate with raised sides, pour the two tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, and place steaks side by side in Worcestershire sauce. Generously sprinkle the tops of the steaks with kosher salt, and then, using a pepper mill, grind the black peppercorn onto the tops of the steaks until it has a decent coating. Billy and I really like freshly ground black pepper, so I used quite a bit.
  3. Cover the steaks with saran wrap and allow them to rest while you prepare the sauce.
  4. For the sauce, saute the diced onions in a tablespoon of oil until they are translucent.
  5. Add the Worcestershire sauce, dry red wine, chicken broth, and thyme. Allow the sauce to simmer on medium heat until it reduces a bit. Stir in the two tablespoons of butter and then remove the sauce from the heat.
  6. Go grill those steaks!
  7. Using aluminum foil, tent the steaks and allow them to rest for about 10 minutes  before digging in.
  8. Once you plate the steaks, take the leftover juice from the plate they were resting on, and add it to the sauce.
  9. Enjoy!!!
These steaks were enormous. I got Billy to pause for a moment so I could get an image of his before it disappeared.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

